You are here

Step daughter barely talks to me

Georgie-rads1's picture

Hi

I'm new to this so sorry if i don't know all the lingo/abbreviations!

My stepdaughter, known her since she was 6, she's now 22. We used to have her every weekend. Her mum is the bitter ex. We've always been hated especially me 

My stepdaughter has always been made to feel bad for liking me, been encouraged to cut me out.  They even had a falling out a few years back and I encouraged her to sort it out with her mum.

I thought i had a good relationship with my stepdaughter we used to talk etc but recently she barely has anything to do with me. She's rude to me unless she's in front of her dad. I call she never answers or she'll text back "what do you want," 

I've confronted her asking if I've upset her and she ssys I don't call her and when i mention about what she says she says its me with the problem.  

This is over text, I've not confronted her to her face as she's not the type you can approach. She's never wrong, an actual trait she has from her mum. She has been treated likeca princess all her life, my husband won't say anything as he's frightened he'll lose contact altogether. 

Anyone else been in a similar situation? Advice please? 

2Tired4Drama's picture

I've been in the exact same situation. But unlike you, there was never a time when my SD had a conversation with me. I've been around for half of her life and she's never asked me a single question about myself or made any effort to get to know me as a person.  Not. Once.  She is married with her own child now and nothing has changed.  I am disengaged from her. 

As for you ...Your SD is an adult now. She is responsible for her own behavior and managing her own relationships.