You are here

SS entitlement ruining my marriage!

sassafrassey's picture

Here goes, I am new to this sight and am so thankful I found it. My husband makes me feel like the issues we have are MY issues, and my issues alone.

Here goes, my husband has 2 children from previous marriage, SD 18, SS 22. His son is in his 6th year of college that my husband is paying for, refuses to work while in school (because he is too busy) and will only work part time in summer. He does not live with us, hasn't lived in my husbands house for 4 years, but still stores all of his and his girlfriends stuff there. He has planted huge gardens, let them die, and refuses to clean up the mess because he is too busy, but we are NOT to throw anything out or else he won't have a relationship with my husband. I gave him and my husband 5 month to clean it up, and then I told my husband if I clean it up and it looks like garbadge, it's garbage. Well his 5 months is up and he refuses to help my husband take care of the stuff. He is still not working and is out of school. I was given the riot act because I said I would clean it up, I am not to touch his son's stuff.

Next issue - I am 6 months pregnant, his son's and his girlfriend's stuff is in the bedroom that my baby will be going into. 1 month later after asking my husband to start moving the stuff (he still didn't tell his son that the baby will be in the room where his stuff is at, afraid that it will cause problems in his relationship with his son, I had enough and started packing the stuff and moving it into the basement. Again, I was told that I am not allowed to touch his son's stuff, and we discussed divorce because I did. I told my husband that it is my house and I will do anything I please in MY house, that I will not be treated like shit on the bottom of his shoe, or an outsider in the house that I live in.

Just a small example, there has been many. I feel like I ALWAYS come last when it concerns his ADULT children.