You are here

Please, I need Advice

simply_monica's picture
Forums: 

Hello,
My husband and I are being put through the ringer with child support.
First, we were paying child support for a child that my husband's ex-wife had with another man. Because the child was born while they were legally married but separated, we had to fight to remove him from the divorce and the child support cases. We finally removed him, unfortunately we will never see a dime. We were told we could pursue it civilly.
We have finally fixed our child support case, but they have taken our whole tax return. All over a glitch in the computer system. I know child support will not give a penny. We really needed that money. We have the children more than 50% of the time yet we pay $492 a month. All because she refuses to work.
I don't understand how a government can support women who do nothing but give birth to children and leech off the system. I am in the military since I was 17, I am a full time student also. My husband works full time and we live off the bare minimum. We do not even have enough money to survive off of. We have had to move into my husband's parent's home.
What can we do? Is there any way we can stop child support from consistently taking money from us?

sixteensmom's picture

Not sure where you live but < $500/mo for 2 or more kids isn't enough to raise them. How can your tax return be kept if you're paid up? I think you need to fight the system.

simply_monica's picture