You are here

When skids get older - how often do they choose to live w/one parent??

confused86's picture

For instance, SO and I have 50/50 w/BM - but when the kids become teenagers, how common is it for the skids to choose to stay at one parent's place and only see the other parent EOWE? Does that happen a lot, or do most parents tell them they don't have a choice and keep the 50/50 schedule? I know it's a possibility that the skids could end up at our house full time, that's something you have to realize when you get into a situation such as this - but I'm just curious as to what has happened with your skids when they got older??

I'm not from a broken home and none of my family members are either - I have no experience in this stuff whatsoever. Except now, when I decided to date a man with 2 kids (yes, I still think I'm crazy!). So it's all very foreign to me and I just don't really know what usually goes on in these situations as the kids get older. His kids are SD10 and SS8, so that time will be here before we know it! lol

Glassslipper's picture

Agree, they "same sex identify" as teens, BUT my teens have NOT chosen to stop their 50/50 cycle yet.
DS15 or DD13 have not yet decided. But I think once they start driving it will be different too.
Who knows, I want them to have both parents actively involved in their lives!

confused86's picture

I think it's important that both parents be involved as well. I can see once they are driving only living (aka sleeping) at one house, but spending equal amount of time at both being okay.

confused86's picture

It'll be interesting to see how that plays out... They would certainly be choosing their mom's house then over ours - they have to do chores and homework and BATHE at our place, for goodness sakes! How evil we are! }:)