You are here

Step-daughter of 11 years

Mr.stack's picture

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the discussion boards. I have been reading alot of others post and feel that I need more specific opinions on my situation. First a quick background story, I am a disabled veteran, married with 2 bio kids and a SD from wifes previous relationship. I have been rasing my SD for the past 11 years (she turned 12 this past july). The Bio father doesnt care to come around and avoids paying child support. He is a real big piece of shit dead beat asshole. Anyways my whole relationship with my SD has become tense and difficult. She is diagnosed and medicated for ADHD and has been since she was 7 yo. For the last few years things have been getting worst and worst, she is constantly lying about everything. I mean about little and big stuff, really elaborate lies. She also steals alot from me and her mother, from jewlery, makeup, electronics, money... you name it. Iv been trying to be a good parent, to be patient. But with each pasing day I get angrier and more resentful. Im at the point where I dont want to be around her, I literally dread when she comes home from school. Me and my wife dont fight much about anything, but we fight like crazy when it comes to my SD. Her mother feeds into her lies and manipulations. SD has problems at school, with students and family members. I dont know what else to do, I have had enough. This is really tearing me apart, i try so very hard to be a good dad. I try and teach when mistakes are made and I reward greatly for good behavior but with SD she acts like a spoiled teenager that thinks she can do whatever she wants with no consequences. She has been in therapy for over a year and was even place inpatient psychiatric for pulling a knife on her younger brother and sister (my bio kids). She is always disrespectful and talking back, she refuses to follow rules and choirs. I dont know what else to do. Any feed back from yall would be much appre