You are here

Newbie here..I am so happy I found you guys!

schadenfreude's picture

I started Googling last night about being a stepmom,and that is how I found you guys. As I was reading some of your posts, it is like I could have written them myself. Good news- I am not alone and my situation is not that unusual!

My DH and I have been married for almost 5 years. Step daughter is 13, step son 11. They are not bad, disobedient children. They ARE whiny(stepdaughter) and extremely emotionally needy. Their parents had a very long, drawn out divorce that was very ugly. I am 36, extremely introverted, with no children of my own. I never wanted or even really liked children. Like a fool, I believed DH when we got married that no motherly duties would fall on me. Yeah, right.