You are here

New to being a SM...

yoursmineandours3's picture

I am new to this sight, and I am looking for a place to get some insight on Step parenting as well as a place to just air my greiviesnces. I am looking forward to constuctive critiscism as I am not only new to being a SM but also know to having twin girls (10). A little Back ground. Twin (SD) are 10, and were taken from there Mother for saftey reasons almost 2 years ago now. There Mother died of drug relate illness just this January. I have been in the picuture for a little over a year. So things have been stressful to say the least. I hae 1 BS (3). His father is in the picture eveyother weekend. Although, it is never consistant. 

I am looking to gain some insight into how to be   a step parent and step up to the plate so these girls know how loved they truly are, without crossing that baoundry of "replacing" their Mom. their Father is 100% on baord with me being a "parent" in their life, allowing me to make rules, punish as I see fit, and be an active aprt in their life. he supports the decsions I make and trusts me to make decsions that are in the best intrest for his daughters when he is at work. I am struggling with what my boundaries should be. 

Rags's picture

Welcome, I hope that you find this a good place to vent, contribute and pick up some useful perspective from others who are living the blended family dream.

It is a positive that your SO is supportive of you being not only his equity life partner but also an equity parent to his daughters.  As hopefully he is for your son.

You mention that he supports you parenting his daughters. A more important topic is, does he parent his daughters?  Are htey held to behavioral standards by their dad?  Does he discipline them appropriately or does he ignore their behavioral issues?