You are here

New to this

NewS-mom's picture

Hello everyone,
I am new to this and am looking for a place of support. I am newly married to my husband who has a daughter from a previous marriage. She lives out of state with her BM and visits every couple of months. It is a different kind of relationship. BM trapped him because BM didn't want to have to move back home after college to live with her parents as was expected. They were only dating 3 months when she conceived. He married her and then she decided that she did want to move back home with her parents after 2 years. I love my sd and have a great relationship with her, eventhough she is kept on quite the pedestal. I am having some trouble dealing with some creeping issues however....

When my husband and I met, he was having some financial difficulties due to a previous lay-off from a job. He was very upfront to me about this. With my assistance, we have gotten it all squared away. We have the understanding that I will take control of the checkbook as he does not manage money very well. It is working thus far. This past summer, he had to have surgery. He was put on short-term disability because of this, so he continued to get a pay check. His ex called and stated that she did not receive his cs. My husband is very good about paying his cs, mostly because it is directly taken out of his pay-check. Because he was receiving short-term disability, his cs hadn't been taken out. Once he learned about this, he was able to have it taken out, plus extra for his missed cs.