You are here

Hello!! I'm a newbie to this forum:)

ozstepmum's picture

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum and thought I would take a moment to introduce myself.
I am engaged and have two step-daughters, SD12 and SD6. We live in South Australia. We have no biological children together.

I thought this forum would be a great place to share some of the challenges that a blended family has thrown my way. It also helps to be in touch with others in similar situations. Sometimes other peoples problems really help to put yours into perspective.

The main challenges I have struggled with are the ex }:) , behaviour issues (kids and fiance Blum 3 ),communication breakdowns between me and my man and the degree of resentment I feel towards all of the above.

I have been in my SDs lives for 5 years. The BM and my DP broke up before SD6 was conceived. A drunken, one night reunion that he lived to regret. I met DP when SD6 was one year old.

BM is a very bitter woman. She is in an on-again off-again relationship with another woman. When they are together she is more grounded which is great for the SDs. The only issue I have with her being gay is the fact that they were living together and yet BM decided not to discuss it with her daughters. Treated them like they were deaf, blind and stupid for 2 years until one day after a fight BMs girlfriend decided to tell SDs they were gay :?

For the most part I get along fine with my SDs although SD12 is proving to be more and more difficult to get along with. Problems arise regularly in our blended family and the drama seems to be getting to me more of late.

I would really like to learn more about disengaging and plan on adopting this tactic and try not to get involved too much.

I look forward to reading through these forums and to hearing from you all.

Smile Smile Smile

giveitago's picture