You are here

not a step parent yet

map's picture

Hello, I am new to this, but I am so upset I can't stop crying. I have to make the choice of whether or not to stay with my boyfriend. He has two teenage daughters - 14 & 17 that have no respect for other people and do whatever they want whenever & wherever they want. It's midnight & he & I are sleeping in the next room but they want to blare music - they will. They are not terrible kids, just completely disrespectful and boyfriend will not take any action to change their behavior. He says "they're kids, nothing I say will change them" so he just lets them do everything. We had a converstation yesterday about breaking up, he wants to stay together but says he can't see how it will work because I get so stressed about his kids. Any advise would help, he is a great guy & we get along great, it's just the kids, they won't be teens forever will they??

no fairytale's picture

Hello- no they wont be teens forever but I dont know if that will make you feel better.. I deal with a SD of 23 and trust me I would trade her for several teens..-)

If he does not set ground rules now with them then they will not have anything to follow.

Good luck in what you decide and welcome

belleboudeuse's picture

If he has two teenage kids and he can't figure out how to make them turn down their music while they're in his house, then no, it will not get better. Run.

BB

You are not second best, you are not second class. Do not ever let anyone make you feel that way. - 2BLoved

Flutterby's picture

My BF of nearly 3 years has a 14yo daughter who lives with us fulltime. For the most part she is a good kid, I would prefer of course, she wasn't with us, however that's the price I have to pay for having a loving, wonderful man in my life.