You are here

This isn't the relationship I want!

shortbobsweatpants's picture

I came across this site by searching “I feel no love for my child”. This isn’t what I want; I just don’t know what to do to change it. Since all of our situations are unique to us, let me share some of the key points.

-I do not have my own children and I have very little experience with children. I did at one point want my own children, especially a daughter, but my current partner does not desire additional children and I now have medical concerns that make pregnancy something that would need to be approached with extreme caution. At this point I/we have no plans for additional children. My step-son will be my only child.

-I have a wonderful relationship with my partner. We have known each other nearly our entire adult lives and remained close friends despite distance between us. We are both divorced and have no desire to marry. We do refer to one another as husband as wife. I am able to be quite honest with my partner regarding my frustrations with his son, but I often suspect that he doesn’t take them very seriously. I think that it is difficult for him to comprehend how I feel.

-The biological mother is not very present in our lives. She left my partner and his son when the child was only two months old. She was an active duty service member until very recently and she has lived and continues to live very far from us, although her parents live very near to us. The biological mother has, in the past two years, seen her child in person only once for a week at her parents’ home. She does not call and she has stopped sending cards or gifts. My step-son is very adamant that he has this unconditional love for his biological mother, but I fear that his lack of a maternal bond has and will continue to affect him deeply. He is overly trusting of everyone, strangers included, and he is very clingy with every adult he knows.