You are here

Newbie here - 14 yr old SD issues

RedWingsFan's picture

Howdy all,

A little background on DH: He and ex split 3 yrs ago due to infidelity on ex's part when SD was 6 yrs old. He tried to make it work. Stayed 5 yrs, 4 of it spent in marriage counseling. After discovering Ex was back to lying and cheating, he moved out and filed for divorce. Ex is a piece of work but aren't they all? Anyhow, both of them raised SD to be the center of the universe. Spoiled only child. She literally was telling them what to do and was in full control at age 11 when I met my now husband.

A little background on me: I have a daughter who is 6 mos older than SD. She lives with her dad full time (long story but it was more stable as I was moving around too much with my then boyfriend due to jobs he had). She comes to CO to visit for the summer and I go up to MI to see her at other times throughout the year/holidays/etc. She and I have an excellent relationship and she's very articulate, mature and smart. Polar opposite of SD.

A little background on DH & me: we met after he and ex had been apart for a yr. We met online as friends and didn't want a relationship at all. He introduced me after a few months to his daughter. Our friendship developed into a relationship shortly afterwards. We were engaged after a year and just married last month. So, that's 3 yrs that SD has had to get used to the fact that her parents were not together nor were they getting back together.

This girl is very manipulative, a liar, an attention seeker and has tried to break her dad and I up several times because dad finally grew some nerve and started behaving more like a dad instead of like this kid's best buddy. Unfortunately, her mother is still her buddy and she still has control over mom. He doesn't give in to her every desire, mom does.