You are here

My stepkids have broken my heart

Abby L's picture

I'm going to post in the comments because it doesn't seem to be posting. Sad

Abby L's picture

Hi everyone. I've got two 15 year old stepkids. I've been raising them since they were 8 months old. Their dad and I got married before they turned 2. I had a son when I met my husband, who is 17 now and we have three kids together. My stepkids mom died when they were born, so they've never had her in their lives. We were always open with the kids and told them about their mother, allowed them to have photos and they saw their maternal grandparents once a month. But they always called me mom and were very close to my family, including my son, who they called their brother.

In the last couple of years everything changed. They started calling me Abby instead of mom. They would call me their stepmother to their friends and people they were talking to. My husband asked them about it and they always answered with they didn't realize they were doing it. Then about a year and a half ago, they called a "family meeting" without the other kids and said they were going to start calling me by my first name and they were going to have more to do with their moms family. My husband said they were disrespecting me by calling me by my first name after so many years. He told them I had been their mom since they were babies and they were the ones who called me that. All they said was "at least we're not your responsibility anymore. You don't have to get us cards or gifts anymore."

It's been a shock. Our three younger kids are struggling to adjust to being called half siblings instead of just siblings. And they basically ignore my son now. My stepson won't hang out with him anymore. And my son told me the other day that it's like we just got married or something. It's so hard to believe because up until two years ago we were a happy family and everything was going so well. Now I'm heartbroken.

Abby L's picture