You are here

Are boundaries being crossed?

cloudsurfer503's picture

My fiance has a 4 year old daughter, who I have been raising with her since she was 18 months, as the biological father was in prison. He has been out for a while now and is making an effort to see his daughter, which I respect. However, my fiance wants to be able to call him when the little one is with him in order to check-in and say hi, and she wants him to send pictures while she is on her visit with him.

Personally, it makes me feel like my fiance is still having a relationship with him and having her little family on the side, so to speak. Am I being immature and jealous, or is there validity in these feelings? Thanks

Maxwell09's picture

I know a separated couple who have a four year old daughter. Their custody schedule was 50/50 until recently. They didn't do phone calls because it would disrupt the girl at that parents house so they would text a picture when the other parent asked. I always thought it was weird too but they still do it.

BM used to ask DH for pictures and he always felt like she only asked as proof like she would text asking DH to have SSthen2 call her before bed but he would already be sleeping so she would ask for a picture. It was aggravating and he didn't always do it but sometimes he did. But BM also called often so she was already disrupting the household anyway. I think your wife could ask for maybe one picture if it's a weekend visit and maybe one a call a week for week long visits. But if the girl is only gone from mom two days then I think she's hovering. The same goes for the dad. I can see a mid-week call and maybe a picture on the weekends he doesn't get to see her. But not an everyday thing.

cloudsurfer503's picture

The visits are once a month for a week at a time. I think you make a valid point; at midweek, a pic and/or call should be acceptable, thanks!

Last In Line's picture