You are here

CS based on Jointly Filed Taxes?

wampwampstomp's picture
Forums: 

My husband and I filed jointly last year, so our taxes reflect a combined income. The court is requesting this be submitted, but aside from the W2's there is nothing showing what is his and what is mine. Will my income now be included when they decide CS? Or will they strictly go by his current income from pay stubs?

Ispofacto's picture

You aren't a party to their divorce, and your income should be none of their business.  In your shoes, I would redact my part of the tax return, so it would only show his income.  But I'm not a lawyer.

https://www.divorcenet.com/resources/remarriage-and-child-support-kentuc...

In your shoes, if your marriage causes his CS to go up, I'd divorce him.  But it looks like your child might cause his CS to go down.

CastleJJ's picture

DH and I are married filed jointly for taxes. When his CS was calculated, we provided his W2s and our tax documents. I think they just used them to cross reference because they only calculated CS based on his income. 

simifan's picture

You can redact your information. All they really need is the W2. 

Rags's picture

As was my W-2 and my wife's. And our mortgage information, 401Ks, investment accounts, checking savings, etc...

My income could not be used for CS calculation based on SpermLand regulations.  It was used to award the Spermidiot an income reduction credit which lowered his. Max CS obligation by $50/mo. Idiots in stupid Harry Potters robes slinging Fisher-Price pre-school wooden hammers are still idiots from the bottom 10% of the legal profession. Sadly, they far too often find their way to the bench.  They are particularly prevelant on the family law bench. Morons put them where they can do the most harm to children. For some odd reason.

The Dipshitiot never provided his taxes or any other financial information other than  his last two pay stubs.