You are here

Advice before going to court?

SecondWife's picture
Forums: 

A little back story. I have one ss, 11 and my dh and I have been married for a year and a half. BM is remarried as well, but just filed for divorce. My DH and the BM went to court about 5 years ago and she was given "primary" custody. There's been a lot going on and we have decided to take her to court. SO....we retained an attorney today. I work as a paralegal, but not in family law, and have never been through a court matter on my own. I'm really hoping that we get custody or at least more custody then we have, because we have a much better home environment for him. I have faith in the attorney and in the "system". I know it's going to be alot for us all to handle. Does anyone have any advice? First of all, I was wondering if we should let my ss know that we are filing the papers to move forward? He knows that the judge makes the decision, but should we involve him or just wait until we go to court? I have a feeling bm will tell him as soon as she is served with papers. Any advice on what to expect would be great! We are in NC.

stormabruin's picture

"you have faith the system?! my advice, lose that faith because you are only bound for disappoinment! "
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is where DH & I are with the system...for real.

stormabruin's picture

Heehee!

MadeMyBed's picture

system had failed DH and myself so many times as well. BUT it doesnt mean thats what will happen in your case. Good luck, but dont be surprised either.

halfstepmom2skids's picture