You are here

Our Public School System

juststressedbeyondbelief's picture

To preface, I'm an Algebra teacher, and been for about 5 years. I teach outside of a city center on the east coast in a low income district. I have a degree&certification for 4-12 math. I left college with a 4.0 and have been rated as highly effecive. I do it because it pays the best of any of the surrounding districts, and I have patience.

I notice the behaviors that we see in stepchildren and in children who aren't stepchildren daily. The nasty, entitled, and no consequence behaviors that I read about so much here aren't just plauging us as step-parents, but also in the school buildings.

In my building, and my district as a whole, about half of the teachers are uncertified. (Meaning that they don't have a degree for teaching.) Realistically, it means parents are sending thier children to math class, and instead of math, they are being babysat for 1&1/2 hours per day. Certified teachers simply do not want to work in a district that does not enforce behavioral policies effectively, so the board of ed decided it would be a good idea to hire someone with a degree in dance to teach upper level math.

I feel that the problem doesn't point to me, but to the parents involved. I feel that it isn't just nasty stepkids, it's an entire nasty generation. I don't feel that all of these children were raised in any constructive way. My evidence points to the fact that I have 35 kids failing my class currently, and I recieved ONE phone call concerning grades.

It makes it worse that your own school district is reinforcing these terrible habits that the children bring daily. I have classrooms with upwards of 40 teenagers. By myself. I've had 6 fights in my own classroom that I've had to resolve in 3 weeks. None of these children recieved a consequence, instead, they point to the teacher (me) and ask what I could've done to resolve the situation with rabid students.