You are here

Not sure what is going on

marsaidstep's picture

Hi! I am new to step talk and wondering if anyone can help figure out what is going on with my relationship. I met my DH three years ago and we have been together even since. He can be very affectionate, romantic and loving at times and I feel as though he is my best friend as well. He has two children from his previous relationship whom I have known since they were 3 and 5. They are now 6 and 8. However we have had several rough patches in our relationship that have resulted in us breaking up and getting back together but never resolving anything and only to end up in the same place. We have tried couples therapy to no avail and he suggested we quit going as he could no longer afford it. He was beginning to get frustrated and resentful of me because I never moved in with him after being together for so long but I feel there were too many issues involving his kids and finances that needed ot be sorted first. Whenever I would try discussing these things with him he would get very angry and shut me out and not talk to me for several days at a time. There were other issues (his ex coming over, his social media activity, his kids behaviors,) where he would tell me to leave his house for trying to talk about these things as well. For this I never felt secure in the relationship and felt if we lived together things would have gotten worse as I could never talk to him about anything. Lately we have not been together as it has been a rough summer. The final blow out came when his daughter Diablo threw a lampshade down while we were on vacation and it nearly hit me on the head. This was after we had a nightmare vacaiton of his kids acting terrible.  He blew up on me when I confronted him about it and I left and went home. I have not heard from him since and it had been weeks. The other night I got a text form him saying he misses me very much. I told him I missed him too at times but did not think I deserved to