You are here

Mental Health and Child Custody Evaluation?

Jonesie's picture

Hi everyone,

I'm new to steptalk but I've been reading for awhile. We're going through a custody suit and so I've been hesitant to post.

Just to give you a quick background: My DH filed for custody of his 5 year old daughter. BM is his ex girlfriend from college - they were never married. DH and I started dating when SD was about a year old and we've been married for a little over one year. They did not have a prior CO.

DH filed first, then she responded. She requested a mental health and child custody evaluation and the court granted the request. We just finished the evaluation and we are waiting on his report.

Does anyone have experience with a child custody evaluation? Thanks!

Kilgore SMom's picture

I've not heard of that. What all did it require? I've heard do drug testing. You probably don't have anything to worry about. I would make her take one too. Good Luck.

Jonesie's picture

Thanks for the reply. I don't know anyone personally who's done something like this so I thought I'd reach out on Step Talk.

Myself, BM, and DH had to take the MMPI and then we had to talk to a psychologist. I think BM went to the psychologist three times. I only went once. And DH went 5 times. Then the psychologist watched DH and myself play with SD for about thirty minutes. After that I guess he writes a report that will suggest how custody should be divided.

DH is very confident that the psychologist will suggest something in our favor but having never done this I wondered what other people's experiences were...

my.kids.mom's picture