You are here

Freaking out....

overwhelmed_underappreciated's picture

Okay so I just came across this site and decided that I would probably fit in perfectly here as I am new at this step-parenting/parenting thing and could use as much support as I can possibly get.

I am 22 years old and my fiance (21 yo) and I have been together for 2 years next month. At the time that we met he had been separated for over a year and going through a divorce with his ex wife. I knew from the beginning that they had a child together and I was ok with that. Several months into the relationship his ex called and told him that she was pregnant and the child was his. This was a debatable topic because the main reason their relationship did not work out was because she was cheating on him throughout their marriage with multiple partners. When I asked him about the situation he told me it was highly unlikely but possible that the child was his because 2 months before we met he went home (he is in the military and stationed in a different state) to visit his daughter and his ex got him intoxicated and "tricked" him into sleeping with her. *I have no opinion on this because it was before he and I were together and that is his business.* Well, needless to say I told him that I loved him and regardless I would stand by him and support him through everything. When the child was born we had a DNA test and it turns out the kid is his... so now he has not one but two daughters.