You are here

First Timer...Mom not setting great example

heathermw's picture

I have never done anything like this before, so forgive me if I sound silly. I am engaged to a wonderful man who I have been with for almost 3 years, he has two terrific children (11, girl and 9, boy) that he has joint custody of. I love those childrne as much as if they were my own, but I struggle with their mother. She is a very selfish person. I am a trained teacher and enjoy helping the kids with their homework on the nights that we have them; last year we really struggled with the girl and her grades. She did very poorly in school (mostly late work never being turned in) and was very unorganized. At the beginning of this year, I developed a homework contract and guidleines that were to be signed by the child, both parents and the parents significant others. In this document, parents were to check her homework daily, go through her bag, sign her planner, etc. Mom is not doing these things. I spend about 2-3 hours each night that we have the kids checking homework, reviewing work, etc. Mom asks if it is completed and if it is, she, sometimes, signs the planner and is done. Grades are reflecting that, they have the potential to be much better than they are. Mom has other things to do, mom is busy, those are the excuses we hear when we ask the kids if she is looking at this stuff.

She is also a very unorganized person. Neither kid is in bball this winter becuase she never recieved anytihg in the mail and never thoguth to check the website. She is making custody issues very tough; her BF lives about 25 minutes from us, about 45 minutes from mom's house, she is digging her heels in regarding custody issues over the holidays because of travel time, she digs in her heels when we need to switch a weekend (not very often) because she wants to be on the same schedule as BF who has two kids, same genders, same ages.