You are here

Any positive talk being a step parent?

janetdoesidoe's picture

Hello,
newbie here... not an actual step parent yet. I have been with my boyfriend for over 2 years and we plan to eventually get married (but not have children), he has children from a previous marriage (3 kids- ten and under).

I came here because I have never dated a man who had children before, and wanted some behind the scenes info I guess...Get an idea of what to expect.... the majority of the posts I have read are always so negative (dealing with the skids and the bm-I can relate to the bm being a pain in the butt on occasion), and it just makes me wonder... I don't know... am I either really lucky or do I have on major rose colored glasses?? lol

Does anyone out there have positive and happy thoughts/memories/stories/etc. about their stepkids?

nobios3steps's picture

In our case we have a crazy BM who does not have custody of the kids, she tries to make our lives hell, but she does not accomplish that because we wont let her.

I think there are some cases where people get along, our's isn't that one.

As far as the kids I am with them more than their mom, we do have happy times, but I know that they hold a candle for a mom who isnt a mom and it is sad that she can not see past the forest for the trees so to speak and can just be a mom and not let everything be about winning.

Unfreakingreal's picture

I don't hate my Skids and they don't hate me either. The issues are mostly BM related and any issues with the Skids boil down to parenting fails.
Luckily, mine aren't as bad as some of the ones I've heard about here but SD is only 14 and I'm not sure how she'll be in the next few years.
SS22 just moved across the country and our relationship while rocky at one point is back in a good place. So yes, there are some positive ones. Are we the Brady Bunch? Nahhhh, but we do co-exist in a comfortable place of common respect and caring for each other. If that makes any sense.