You are here

Almost Suicidal / Depressed as Step-Mom to Three Kids!

LawyerGirl's picture

Dear Step-Talk: I found your site today and so glad I did. I hope venting to you all and hopefully getting some good responses will help me a bit. I'm really down and depressed lately. Almost suicidal at times, which is totally not normal for me: I'm an educated professional woman with a ton of friends and a good life (until I started dating my BF last year).

This is the situation: My BF is a single father to three sweet girls (ages upper elementary to middle school at the moment). I really like them. I really liked MY relationship with BF at first: He was sweet when we first met last year and still is usually great about taking me out to dinner, giving me foot rubs after a long day, buying me presents. But I HATE my life with him and the kids!

I have no children yet of my own, and BF is a widower. We've been together about 15 months and the longer we're together, the more I think he didn't want a GF at all. He wanted a sex slave who would be a free nanny and caretaker of his kids! He and his wife were divorced, and then she passed away about two years ago. He doesn't lift a finger, except for working and paying the bills. I think he's an absolutely awful parent. He doesn't cook the kids dinner or make their lunches or breakfasts; he won't clean (at all) and yells at them for not cleaning!

This is my dilemma: I really love the girls and I'm afraid they'll suffer if I abandon them. My heart is aching over this and I've seriously considered suicide lately. I feel so trapped. What can I do at this point?

I appreciate any suggestions or advice to make this situation easier.

Valkyrie's picture

Hi and welcome. Take a deep breath, you will find lots of support here.