You are here

Season change brings moody blues

Missingme's picture

Once again, fall is upon us and the inevitable moody blues have officially arrived.  Anyone else dread the holidays for this reason?

Stepmama2321's picture

I love the holidays! But I'm new to the step world and I do see how holidays brings out a lot of stress when it comes to the steps. 

MissTexas's picture

caused even people who don't normally have "the blues" to have them.

Not being able to do something as simple as go to a concert, fly to a different destination for a change of scenery, or visit with friends the way you'd like to has been especially tough.

Others are out of job, or struggling with illnesses....then there's the stress the holidays tend to bring, especially in step family situations.

So to answer your question. Yes.

JRI's picture

The drama in our family rises to unimaginable heights during the holiday season.  It got so bad that I had major depression each December plus I usually get sick around then.  I've cut way, way back on the interaction and that has helped a lot.  I used to decorate, put up a tree, cook, host cookie parties, buy and wrsp gifts, make crafts, entertain and host overnight guests.  At the same time I was working full time, attending night school and dealing with step drama.  No wonder I was depressed.

I asked myself, what do I like about Christmas?  I like my tree, I like to hear the music, I like my family in small doses.  So, I quit everything else.  The kids rotate hosting it and we give cash gifts.  I have disengaged from SD so hear less drama altho there's still some.  I still have the day with them all but I can stand a few hours and they all seem to enjoy catching up..  i havent had the big depressions the past couple years altho I still watch for them.

UtahBlonde's picture