You are here

Disengaging from BM?

canihandlethis's picture

I feel like I want to take my 10 week old son and run away from the rest of my life. I keep thinking I am the wrong personality to be involved in this situation and shouldn't be a step mom. But how do I walk away now? I don't want to share my son with his Dad and only get to see him every second week. I feel like I was not prepared for how excruciatingly hard this would be. I was already 5 months pregnant by the time my SO started being able to see his daughter again. She will be 4 in a few weeks. So while I knew he had a daughter, I didn't really know how this situation would be. I didn't know I would have all these terrible feelings.

Everything is a fight with my SO's ex. She is a bully and tries to manipulate everyone into doing what she wants. There is no compromise. I am not good with high conflict people. And it is very hard to say because no one wants to admit they feel this, but I am such a jealous person and have a long list of insecurities. So while I do feel very jealous and insecure around her, I know that this part of it isn't actually about her, it's about me. My SO tells me all the time why I shouldn't feel this way but I do. I am considering counselling because I know these are not productive feelings to have. But it won't change overnight and I don't know how to cope right now. I hate that he has to talk to her, to be around her, I hate it when she calls, texts him, etc. I feel like I have to share him with her, because I do. She gets his time, his money, etc. And to make it even harder, she doesn't understand boundaries. She thinks she has a right to know about our lives and gets a say in the things that we do. She insists on coming to the MIL's house for pick ups and drop off instead of my SO picking up at her house. She keeps trying to arrange so her sister can see my son. And not asking, but demanding. I flat out refuse. While we had SD at our house for two weeks, she informed us she