You are here

Stepson will soon be 12 and looking for others experience

xcutxupxlovex24's picture

Hi, I am new to this page and forums...not sure if this would be the place to post it but here goes. 

In a little over a year my step son will be turning 12. His mom keeps telling him at 12 he can decided where he wants to live, he hasn't expressed a true interest other than and I qoute he says "I want to decide where to live so I can go back and forth when someone gets on my nerves." Mind you he will be 12 and has siblings in both homes, a parent or sibling is always going to get on his nerves I am sure....

I am pretty much expecting a complete shit storm come the age of 12 with his mother telling my husband step son doesn't wanna come and doesn't have to because he is 12 and husband having to tell her until there is a court order stating otherwise no he still has to come and her doing everything in her power to withhold....

but here is the thing has me stressing....what do we do? Should we just let him decide and leave it at that?? go back to court and push for the schedule to stay the same?? go back and request a set visitation schedule still but with reduced time possibly?? (I ask about reduced time cause at the moment we have 50/50 every other week) So I question if a steady schdeule with less time would possibly be in the best interest or a good comprimise for everyone...

I definately don't think with his reasoning he is truely old enough to decide....I also know we want him as involved with the family as possible...on the same hand I don't want to make him miserable making him come or have my husband miserable that he doesn't get to see his son....so wanna come up with a comprimise some how...

so what has everyone elses experience been?

Maxwell09's picture