You are here

I want to improve my relationship with abused step-daughter

RonnieT's picture

I met my fiancé almost 2 years ago I was 26 & she was 30. She had a 14 year old daughter (16 now) and 3 year old twin boys (now 5). Her daughter was/is best friends with my eldest niece.
She's divorced from her ex-husband 6 months previous - so here's the thing - he was a pr!ck, they split because he'd been abusive towards her daughter.

They were renting a flat so they moved in with me quite quickly cause I have a decent house (im a mechanic, run a small gargle with my older brother) but her step-daughter was always a bit off with me, but I figured it would just take time - she'd been through a lot and she'd see I was a decent guy.

Two years on we're getting married, the boys call me dad but she still is incredibly distant with me - not any other men, just me! She's always liked my older brother and her my younger brother, stanley get on really well, it's only me shes funny with. She flat out refused to be bridesmaid at our wedding - it hurts a bit, cause I always tried dead hard and she must know I’d never lay one finger on her!

Plus like the other day she was hanging out at ours with one of her friends and I came in from a run with my medal they give you, which her friend seemed to find hilarious and she was like “omg Alex how can you not like this guy, he’s such a cutie” – so she clearly makes no secret about not liking me!