You are here

Doesn't listen to anyone!

CantKeepDoingThis's picture

SD14 came home with a knee brace on today. I know what this is going to start...her complaining about it hurting and needing to take butt loads of ibuprofen. Supposedly, she twisted it during color guard practice...she has twisted this same knee before spinning around aimlessly on carpet...too much friction, she turned her body harder than her foot would slide on the carpet, and twisted knee. She keeps insisting on this dance stuff, but she doesn't want to do anything to take care of herself. I'm a part time personal trainer...I have gone to school for it and have a certification, but of course, SD14 things she knows so much more than I do! She doesn't stretch properly, and when she does, she does things that are very risky...and when I try to warn her of injury, she tells me I don't know what I'm talking about...she is the dance EXPERT! No, I didn't just study anatomy or go through an entire course on proper exercise and stretch form and such to prevent injury and such...no, I'm clueless! (<---sarcasm here) I've also tried to tell her many times that if she truly wants to be a dancer, she needs to eat right, which means fruit and veggies, plenty of lean proteins, etc...you know, the kinds of things that help build or rebuild tissues. No, I don't know what I'm talking about there either, obviously!