You are here

called me a *itch

pullmyhairout's picture

This is my first time writing on something like this!
Had a huge fight with both SD-17years, about chores. They have very little to do around the house and recently we have been having a hard time with them. So both DH and I are pulling the tough love attitude. All they have to do is empty the dishwasher. Each does 1/2. Not a lot right?
Well the rule is if it doesn't get done then you don't get the car or rides anywhere.
This morning SD #1 tells me she is not doing it b/c she will be late for school even though I had reminded her 40 min before she had to leave. So I said that is fine but you better hurry to catch the bus then. Well needless to say lots of yelling started and I woke up their Dad to help deal with the situation. As i am coming down the steps SD #2 says "You are just a bitch". Then I did what no Step should do but... i slapped her. That is what I would do to any of my bio kids. No way are you going to disrespect me like that.
I felt horrible until I talked to some friends who have teenage girls and they have done exactly the same thing when their girls have spoken to them in such a rude manner.
I just don't get it. It is such a simple thing just do your chores! Everyone has responsibilities around the house, it is being part of a family.
we have a hard time getting them to do anything, put dishes away, put school bags away, put boots away etc. When they lived with their BM (who they talk to occasionally but will go months without another whole story) it was a pig pen but our house is not like that and it's my house right? if I want it kept clean then they need to do their part of that!
I am to the point now that I am counting down until they leave for college and I hope they pick one far away.
I love them but I am done with the disrespect and total disregard for all i do for them and in our house!

Timetogiveup's picture