You are here

Any Advice Please: At my LIMIT with Step Daughter

HelpAndBeHelped's picture

This is my first time posting, and I don't even know if I am in the right forum, but I have got to vent before I EXPLODE! I don't know where to begin and I'm sure once this all starts coming out, it will just begin to flow and I won't be able to stop it! I hope that I can get my story across, so that if there is anyone out there going through a similar situation, you can offer me some advice, or even just assure me that I am not the only one, nor am I CRAZY...bc that is how I am starting to feel. So let's get to it. I have a 12 going on 13 Stepdaugher. My husband and I have only been married for 2 years and were together for quite some time before that. We were very careful with bringing our lives together and even bringing his daughter into our life together, bc in my opinion, and as a step daughter myself, I knew this was a fragile time for her. We dated for a year before even easing into her and I meeting. We were very careful not to force a relationship between her and I, when he had her it was there time, I NEVER stayed the night there when he had her. All that just for a little background and pre-story. I was not rushed into her life, we took it slow, and we all eased into things. Because of my husbands unconditional love for his daughter, and my unconditional love for him, I immediately took to her and loved her as if she was my own. We tried to do everything right and when the time came and we made the decision to move forward with our relationship we had all of the open talks with her, explaining that I was not taking her mothers place, and never could or would. Her father had talks with her alone, I had talks with her alone, and we all had talks together as a family. I explained to her that I had been in her very position and situation and if she ever wanted to come to me with any questions or concerns that I would be there. We had a great relationship, and I would