You are here

13 yo twins. One is tearing apart my family.

Withoutapaddle's picture

Hello all, I'm new to this so please bear with me. And when I say new I mean new to posting anything online ever. But like many of you I am at a loss right now. I'll obviously try anything and/or look for guidance anywhere. My wife and I have been married 7 years. We have 2 paternal twin 13 year old girls, my step-daughters. We also have a 5 year old and a 4 year old, both daughters as well. The eldest, by 2 minutes (a fact she repeats often), is tearing my family apart. She is a bully at school to her twin sister. She is mean and nasty to her two younger sisters. And every attempt I make toward getting my wife involvedj in addressing it, it drives a wedge between us. My wife thinks I'm too strict and says I see issues in things that aren't actually issues due the specifics of my own upbringing. I don't feel I ask for much. I know for a fact I ask for way less than what I feel they're capable of or what I think would be fair. But that doesn't mean I don't question myself. This is why I'm here. I hope to gain insight to the validity of my requests and gain perspective on how I may be contributing to the problem. To start I will list chores, expectations, and rules. The twins have about 15-30 minutes of chores everyday after school. These include taking out garbage, tidying their bathroom, and feed their pets (and pick up doo-doo). They are also expected to keep their room relatively tidy, which does not happen but hey they're teens and teens are gross. Once a week they both have a bigger chore where one does floors and one does some laundry folding. This may take 30 minutes to an hour or so. The little ones each have a chore too. The 5 year old cleans the living room floor which is mainly toys. The 4 year old tidys the shoe area. Total 5 mins or so each. That sums up chores. The rules and expectations: They need to keep up with their school work. And wake up in the morning for schoo