You are here

Someone Tell Me its OKAY to feel this way!!! (or not)

goincra29's picture

So after reading the vents on here from several people, I allready feel like I cant complain. Keep in mind, im new to this whole idea. I have never asked for help from anybody and/or advise in an online forum.

Well, im a stepdad and have a 7 year old Step-Daughter......Her real father, has limited interaction if any with her and stopped paying child support. My wife and I just married last year and I have a new born daughter. So, im now caring and Paying for a new born and a stepdaghter, as my wife doesnt work. Money is not an issue however, its the fact that my wife has created a divide between us in the household. I feel like she resents our new born that we have together, because in her eyes I treat my stepchild well like a stepchild.

I feel bad about the whole situation, because I tend to ignor my step-daughter and treat her like a roommate. I wish her real father was in her life and could give us time for my wife and I to enjoy each other sometime alone. I cant explain the joy of looking into my new born daughters eyes and caring for her. She is a new born and allready I feel so attached, she looks like my mother and she favors me in so many different aspects.

I look at my step-daughter and she is nothing like me, nor does she want to be at all She has no fighting spirit, fears everything and gives up on everything she tries. I love her mother (my wife) so very much, and just "kinda-like" my stepdaughter. This causes so much tension and strain in our house, cause my wife really in her heart wants me to want to be a daddy to my step-daughter. My step-daughter is a spoiled little Brat, that only caters to her mother. My wife and I always fight because she hates it when i discipline my step-daughter. I get after my stepchild because she is in my house, and I refuse to have anyone disrespect me in my home.