You are here

Normal behavior?

Hastings's picture

So, I'm stepmom to an 8.5-year-old boy. No bio kids of my own, but I come from a big family so I have some experience with kids. That said, I'm no expert and am curious about how to deal with some things.

DH and his ex generally have a good co-parenting relationship. It's a 50-50, week on-week off split with occasional adjustments for vacations or to make the yearly holiday schedule work out right (they alternate Christmases, Thanksgivings and spring breaks). BM is, though, not easy to talk to about any parenting issues. She tends to get emotional and defensive.

SS is, in my opinion, SUPER sensitive. The slightest correction either makes him start crying or he stomps off angry. Often, when he makes an incorrect statement, we just let it go if it's not a big deal. But if it's something that needs correcting -- oh boy. DH often will just let things slide as long as possible to avoid dealing with it. I've told him that in some cases, the longer he lets it go, the worse it will be and DH agrees so he's gotten better about it. But, still, we get the crying. For example, last spring SS got it in his head that he only had one more week of school. He actually had three. He said something about it and DH told him, nicely, "Sorry, dude, but it's three weeks." SS didn't believe him until DH showed him the school calendar. Cue tears.

After he's through crying or stomping off, he usually gets over it fast and goes on. I understand getting frustrated or embarassed but it seems like at this age he should be getting better about being able to manage his emotions. He'll do this at activities like baseball. It just seems babyish to me and I wonder if he'll start getting made fun of. I don't see the other boys crying when they mess up.