You are here

Miserable and confused

Dysphoria's picture

This is my first time posting here, I hope I'm in the correct area. I was so thankful to find this site, up until tonight I thought I was alone.

My story is pretty long but I'm going to do my best to summarize it as best I can.

I've been with my current boyfriend for just about four years now and I think things started out bad from beginning. When we first started dating his daughter, three at the time, was living with him. He and his ex were never married and actually on the verge of a break up when they found out the ex was pregnant. For the sake of the baby he stayed with her. Well, she decided that he and the daughter were holding her back. She wanted to go to school and pursue a career in "fashion". She left the two behind and moved to another city, seeing her daughter maybe two or three days out of the month. My boyfriend and his ex had been apart for some time before I came into the picture. He never had me around his daughter, only inviting me over after she was in bed or just before he was putting her down for the night and so she and I never established any kind of real relationship in the first year he and I had been dating. At first I didn't think too much of it but later when I asked why he never wanted me around until she was in bed he'd replied that he didn't want to "expose" his daughter to somebody she might get attached to until he was sure that person was going to stick around.