You are here

Married 1 Year - Thinking Divorce B/C of SS (Long)

Daisee1203's picture

I'm so sad to even be writing this kind of post. I NEVER thought this would be an issue I had to deal with in my life. This is very long, so get a cup of coffee...I'll try to condense it.

Met husband in 2012. Engaged 9 months after dating. His son was 6 at the time. Husband had been divorced for 4 years. BM had been dating here and there. I was his dad's first and only serious relationship since their divorce. Initially, my now husband had shared that their son had some problems in school. After a while, I began to realize his issues were far more frequent than typical kids. I had nannied, taught pre-school, was a counselor for different ages and served as a mentor for girls in middle school. I had baby sat since I was 14. I am familiar with kids. My mom is also a counselor and I have a big interest in development in children, so there is that, too. I'm no expert, but I'd like to think I'm at least informed. I'm 37 - no spring chicken, either.

We had a pretty good immediate bond and to this day he tells me he loves me and talks very positively to his mom and therapist about me. I moved in about 1 month before we got engaged. There was some adjustment issues but I thought they were small enough that they would be conquered with a few growing pains as time went on. I'm sad to say that I am considering divorce now because things are pretty bad or not any better. And SS actions are now beginning to affect me, despite anything I try or do.