You are here

TO HAVE OR HAVE NOT

coolstepmamma's picture

WANTED TO GET YOU FEEDBACK ON MY LIFE DILEMMA:

I am a stepmom for the last 2 years. I am also a lawyer and an artist who moved to the burbs with my husband a few years ago from urban life. I am 9 years younger than my husband, who has 2 kids (9 yr old girl and 11 yr old boy) from his previous marriage. Ex lives nearby. We have 1 week on, 1 week off custody. Needless to say, ex is a wack job, but we have a fine relationship and I have a great relationship with the kids.

Needless to say, I never thought I would be in this position (aka STEPMOM) in my life. It has greatly impacted my own decision to have bio kids. I don't think that if I had stepkids, I would hesitate in having my own - but now, my emotions are "skewed" somewhat and I don't have any "gut instinct" to have bio kids. My husband wants me to do whatever makes me happy. I don't know what that is. I know that I greatly influence my stepkids lives, but I don't LOVE them - they don't make me glow or feel any of those things, and I don't feel guilty about it.

I guess my "question" is - how do you know if it's the right thing for you to have bio kids when we have a great life now, with 1 week on and 1 week off and the kids are getting older and be out of the house "soon?" I just don't want to turn around in 10 years and feel like I missed out on having kids.

Thank you, everybody.

SillyGilly's picture