You are here

Feeling second best to BM

Melody2019's picture

Hey guys,

I don't know what to do with myself and it's driving me nuts. So, my DH and the BM have a history together spanning 12 years and three children. They split five years ago and have been attempting to co-parent ever since. Both of them have had other partners since their split. I have been in DH's life for three years and we've only been married for six months. I'm still new to step-parenting and it's been a massive adjustment for me to go from single to suddenly married with children. I struggle with the changes in my life but I haven't packed up and left because I love my DH and can see how much he is trying to make it all work.. that's where the problem is.

Recently, my DH smacked my oldest SS12 after he was caught punching his brother in the back during an argument. SS12 has then gone to school and told them he was being abused and that I did not feed them when we had them on the weekends and that I locked the bathroom doors at night so they couldn't go to the bathroom (all of which is completely untrue). The school then called Child Safety (no blame towards them for acting on what they were told) and this caused serious friction in our household. I felt upset over the accusations and the ramifications it could have on my employment. Out of frustration, I told my DH that I didn't want the kids staying over anymore. He immediately shot this down and while I do realise I was speaking out of anger, it had me thinking on why. When I asked him if he shot the idea down because he genuinely wanted the children over or if he didn't want to upset the BM, he said 'both'. We has an argument over this, whereby he said he didn't want to deal with her drama.