You are here

Biological father is not a good father

junkwargo's picture

Hello, this is my first time posting here. My girlfriend and I are not married or living together yet, but I spend almost every single day with her and her daughter (who is ten years old), so I feel and act like a father figure. My girlfriend and I have been in a committed relationship for almost three years, and I have come to love her daughter as my own. The issue I have is that the girl's biological father is not a good father, to put it in simple terms. Because of this, my girlfriend's daughter has been, for the past half a year or so, oscillating between periods in which she is deeply and truly angry at him (you can hear a deep rage and disappointment in her voice), and periods in which she forgives everything he does (or doesn't do). I don't feel this is good for her. Her biological father not only is not a good father, but is a very anti-social person. He lives alone, works from home and has no friends, keeps very little contact with his family, and as a result, I feel like he can't be a good influence on my girlfriend's daughter. He has a very skewed and distorted view on reality, for instance, he told my girlfriend's daughter to not talk to any boys, ever. Another weird example is that he stopped eating vegetables and replaced them with vitamin supplements, which is not healthy at all, and wanted my girlfriend's daughter to do the same. He often buys video game consoles (A Nintendo Switch, a Playstation 4 and a small laptop so far) for my girlfriend's daughter when she is angry or disillusioned with him, and that sort of buys her over, for some time at least, until he does or says something stupid or doesn't show up for an event or something. I feel like this can't be healthy for my girlfriend's daughter, and that she would be better off if the guy just disappeared from her life forever. Is this too selfish for my part? I fear that some of these feelings come in part from a selfish p