You are here

Fed up with trying so hard to make this family work - for what????

smwilson's picture

I'm new to this, so please excuse me if I don't get all the acronym's correct.

I've been with my partner for 6 years, since SD was 2. We have 50/50 custody. She has learned the only way to communicate is to scream and throw a fit; be abusive and hit - all this she learned from her "loving" bio-mom. This mom is nuts, constantly manipulating, threatening etc. Each week that SD comes back from her mom's we essentially have to de-program her from the week long crap she's been hearing about how we're bad people and don't really love her. We finally decided to get SD counselling, bio-mom said no, SD doesn't need counselling, refused to allow it etc. She finally relented, but only on her terms - she has met with the counseller and informed the counsellor and her daughter that I am the only reason the daughter needs counselling. I have been nothing but loving, caring and yes, provided structure, rules and discipline.............which she doesn't get at her mom's. Her mom has actually told her that I have no right to discipline her - excuse me - I can't tell her to clear her dishes, to be respectful in our home, or to stop being rude to me...... With two other kids in the home, the rules have to apply to all of them, no exceptions for SD because she doesn't like it and her mom has told her she doesn't have to listen. She has thrown wicked 3 hour long tantrums where she kicks the walls, throws things, screams at the top of her lungs things like: I'm not going to stop until you give me what I want, I f'n hate you, your abusing me............