You are here

Skids crying wolf

CajunQT's picture
Forums: 

This is my first time learning about disengaging and I feel like I need to do it. I’m not married but I have been with my BF for three years and living with him for two. His kids live with us full time because their mom, who is an alcoholic, doesn’t really care much about them. They are now 10 (girl) and 11 (boy). They went to visit their mom, who lives three hours away, for New Year’s break and decided that they didn’t want to come home (at last minute). So, the night before they were due to come back, they lied to their mother and said that I hit them. I have NEVER touched them, or ever hurt them intentionally.

Up until now, I was the only disciplinarian, telling them to do their chores correctly and taking away electronics while their father was working at home. I may have yelled but I never hurt them or degraded them. Their mom called cursing me out, and told my bf that she would keep them until there was a restraining order against me because of my "abusiveness". The next business day, Monday, their mom said that she could not place a restraining order against me and told my bf to do it. She wanted me away from her kids for at least 90 days. My city wouldn’t let my bf file one against me (and yes, he did try to please her) and their mother dropped it because she has no transportation or money. Suddenly it didn’t seem to matter to her. Despite them having school, they stayed with their mom an extra week.  (they got what they wanted) The whole time all this was happening, I had just had his baby on Dec. 29!!