You are here

To remind or not to remind?

WaterOffaDucksBack's picture
Forums: 

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

I am still new to being disengaged from my SD22, and am curious as to what you all would recommend.

On Thanksgiving, DH and I were busy with a houseful of my DD17 and DS4, my siblings, my nieces and nephews, and some extended family. It was a lovely, and exceptionally busy weekend! The best part was my SD22 was nowhere around. No one mentioned her, including my DH. Then on Sunday evening (all of my family left by late Saturday afternoon), my DH attempted to call SD22, but shocking - no answer. The rest of the night DH's energy was a little off, and he was sad. When I asked him what was wrong he stated how guilty he felt for not calling SD22 on Thanksgiving, or at any other point during the werkend. He tried to call her twice, each time she never picked up. I tried to console him a little by rationalizing how busy we were with all of my  family, and how chaotic it was with all of the cousins together. He persisted that he felt terrible for not calling SD22, so I countered that she is an adult and she could have called or texted us but that she didn't. He cpntinued moping the rest of the night.

My question for you all is should I remind DH in the future to call SD22 for holidays (ie when the day is almost over so that she cannot invite herself)? Or should I continue to be disengaged and let DH see SD22 and her actions (or lack thereof) for what they really are?  

Thank you both for your insight and your direction regarding Karpman's Drama Triangle. I had never heard of it before. So much to learn about...

ESMOD's picture

I wouldn't remind my DH unless I wanted to have a more active SKID presence in my home.  It is a 2 way street.. she could have called.. he could have called (and did).  You don't need to be the one to remind him.. it's his daughter.. it'snot like he forgets he has one.

Ozlady's picture