You are here

Mental health counseling needed

Lindsnh's picture
Forums: 

Sorry for such a long post. My partner and I have been dating for 2.5 years. Her step daughter who she has joint custody of shows many signs of being bipolar or possibly something else. I'm a teacher and have taught for 12 years, so I know kids behaviors pretty well. I finally convinced my partner to take her to the doc last summer b/c it was obvious to be she had adhd and she  was diagnosed with it. When my partner met her ex the child was 3 months old. The ex had done drugs and alcohol before she "knew" she was pregnant. I think the child has issues related to that. I think she probably needed to be developmentally delayed program for preschool. But she wasn't. She struggles in school, she is very immature. To the point where my 2nd grade students can be more mature than her and she is almost 10. She is very angry most of the time. Mental health problems run in her family ( umm hello!)The child's mother is bipolar and  narcissistic. The child still wets the bed every single night at age almost 10.  Again I had to convince my partner to go back to the doctor and we finally got a urologist appointment next week. 
Part of it is because the ex doesn't work and has no I insurance, so my partner and I have to pay for everything and with the child being on my partner's insurance it's still very expensive.

So what I am getting at is the child has issues. Luckily her behavior at school is fine. But I predict in a few years she is going to be uncontrollable. It takes so much nagging from me to get my partner to get the problems looked. It's like she is blind to it or I don't know what I'm taking about. Hmm well I work with kids all day so I have seen these issues in children! 
I think the child needs to see a therapist. It's so hard to bite my tounge but I'm going to try and disengage. She attends the school I work at and as long as she behaves there I guess that's all I should worry about.