You are here

Has anyone successfully disengaged?

papayag's picture
Forums: 

Hi,

I’ve been doing this job for about 2 years now and am curious if anyone has disengaged successfully from the BS of the ex-wife/BM as a step-mom?

I went to therapy and they helped me disengage from parenting a little which helped a lot but it seems like there is this never ending stream of crap from BM that nothing seems to stop.

DH tells me to ignore it but I can’t, I just hate that this person thinks they can lie and get away with it. It’s nothing that’s putting the child in immediate danger, just basic human decency/competency/ complete lack of foresight issues.

I can also sense myself getting on edge when I listen to reports about the other house from SD, or when she tells me things about BM. SD is just 6 so doesn’t know what she’s doing, and because of covid doesn’t have much else to talk about. 

I woke up in a panic last night imagining the impact that this woman might have on my future kids via my SD and got very depressed. How do you deal with that?

Looking for tips on what worked for others.

Kes's picture

I disengaged 17 yrs ago.  As your SD is only 6 it should be fairly easy to change the subject when she brings up BM.  My younger SD was about the same age when I first disengaged - not that they talked to me that much anyway.  When you say "there is a constant stream of crap" coming from BM - what do you mean? By text, email, phone?  You can block her on all these.  Your DH should only respond to messages which are about an emergency, or a pressing practical issue to do with his kid/s.  

shamds's picture

Hi From skids 1.5 yrs ago and never met bio mum and never will. Hubby has survived perfectly well not seeing the exwife for 11 years +, i have no reason to meet psycho exwife, she trashtalked so much bs about me all false and untrue which sd’s knew and they told their dad to forget about it, that their hcgubm narcissist is ok now when she isn’t even remotely...