You are here

Disengaging is the key!

Elite2020's picture
Forums: 

Whoever came up with disengaging needs to be commended. This truly has been a lifesaver for me. Once I started disengaging and having "Me" time it restored my peace of mind. I would advise anyone who hasn't tried to disengage, try it. You will love it. 

JRI's picture

Im relatively new to Steptalk and I love it, too.  I also like the Grayrock concept which is similsr.  Both very useful in strained family relations.

Jojo4124's picture

I was married to a narcissist. I learned time grey rock which means no emotions when dealing with them.

A narcissist gets gratification from stirring up emotions. So, to not feed their narcissistic supply, and to possibly get them uninterested in stirring you up, show them they can not get joy from making you sad, angry, etc.

Be like a gray, boring rock.

Narcissists will slither away

Ex: talk in an even, boring tone after they do something that causes you to have feelings.

Say something like "huh, look at that. What did you just do?" Point out their behavior and how abnormal it is...talk like you would talk to a gray rock.

JRI's picture

This is my perception, others will chime in with better explanations.  It's giving minimum attention and response to those "troublesome" people.  The idea is to not respond, or respond minimally, so they dont have anything to exploit/ turn against you/ misunderstand, etc.  So in my case, when my SD58, druggie, liar, manipulator and princess, comes over and I cannot avoid interacting, my responses are hmmmm, really, gee.  I don't ask her questions or discuss much beyond the weather.  The idea is less fuel for the crazies.

Elite2020's picture

Ok thank you so much. I really needed this. This will be a great tool for me for SKids. 

CANYOUHELP's picture