You are here

Disengaged and...Miserable???

SAFjh's picture
Forums: 

I am sorry for being redundant. I am just so lost. I am not feeling any happier disengaged than I did when I was involved. The only thing to have changed is that SO and I are not fighting anymore about Skids. Maybe I am just learning it isn't going to be enough for me. I am trying to have blind faith that things will change without my involvement but I don't know if I can do that. To my SO's credit...I have noticed that lately she has been putting her foot down more and I am happy to see it but I am also noticing that it doesn't bother this Skid. He seems so unaffected by it as though it's too late to teach him a lesson or change the course of anything. She won't give him money to go out and buy drugs? He has taken to stealing it from his grandmother. She won't give him rides in the middle of the night? He harasses his grandma or sister until one of them do his bidding. I feel like I am going crazy. What is wrong with me?

I can't stop fearing for my future. I really don't know what to do. I am trying not to notice the things that are going on so they can't bother me but it really is impossible not to accidently overhear what's going on outside my bedroom door.

I don't sound very disengaged right now I realize. It's likely that I will be told I am not doing it right but you would have to be in my shoes to see how hard I'm trying. Am I really supposed to be able to 'give it to God' or something and not worry about how things will end up? Is that what you guys do? I'm sorry for whining...I'm disgusted with myself right now but I've never been so unhappy and it's supposed to be different.

sammigirl's picture