You are here

Depressed dating a single dad

adventures_in_babysitting's picture
Forums: 

Hi there, everyone, 

This is my first time posting anything so I hope I'm doing this right. I've been so grateful to find this site after dating a single dad with three girls under eight for a year. It's helped me to realize I'm not completely crazy with how I feel all the time. 

I am trying to disengage emotionally when he has the kids over. Sometimes I feel pretty successful with it, and other times I really let his situation and how he handles his kids get to me too much. 

Overall, they're actually pretty good kids. They're generally polite and well-behaved. And my BF has been a wonderful man and we have what I feel is one of the few genuinely healthy relationships I've ever had. 

But I am extremely depressed in this situation. I can't stop thinking about all the future what-if scenarios about what it would mean to deal with these step-kids the rest of my life. I want my own family, and BF and I have talked about that, and he said he's open to having more children in the future if we continue to build a life together. 

So that's been nice to know. But I don't really agree with how he parents his current children. This is just a personal opinion, but I don't agree with unlimited use of electronics for kids, like tablets, phones, etc. He doesn't either, supposedly, but he allows the 8-year-old and 5-year-old to fall asleep with theirs every night. I don't understand why it seems so hard for him to simply limit their time on them. Like I said, they're generally not bad kids and I rarely see actual meltdowns or tantrums from them. 

I bring up the electronics as an example because I keep thinking how would I handle that in my house with my own kids. If he wants his to have them, fine, but I don't want mine to, so how am I supposed to control my potential future kids staying away from them until an older, more appropriate age, when his would still be coming over?