You are here

Shared Authority

Fernweh520's picture
Forums: 

First hello, warning I am long winded, could be the story teller in me, Im a history teacher so I do this for a living.  I am very new to all of this and I want to be ahead instead of behind on everything.  I am 40 and no children.  I have wanted children since I was a teen and envisioned a great family life with my ex.  I was married for 10 years and spent most of my 30s working to pay for round after round after round…ect of IVF, if we could swipe the card we did, I will be debt free soon and no more rice and beans.  In the end it changed our dynamic making us more just friends who were always sad, and sadness fed off each other. We both are teachers because of our love of children and being around our students made both of us even more depressed.  Currently I am almost 20 years teaching and plan on getting out soon so I can be around children less, maybe having my own would change this maybe not.

Started dating GF in Sept 2019, I always let it be known upfront that I plan on having a biological family, that it is my number one priority in life, tied with finding a love that is stronger than any I have had before.  My GF is the oldest woman I have dated since my divorce and I wont lie at 39 in a couple months and me having gone through so many disappointments I am nervous about success of starting a family with her. But I can honestly say she is amazing, we have common goals and wants, everything is amazing, especially when it is just us.  She was done having kids, but having met me she wants to give me a child, though she says if not I will always have her son ( I don’t see it this way and she knows this, her son is not looking for a father and she is not willing to give me authority of a father with him).  We are going to soon start not, not trying.