You are here

Suffering as a stepmom

Kmh89's picture

Hi all, first post here. I’m at my wits end and just need insight from people who understand my position. Here’s some background on our situation. I met DH 8 years ago, I was a teacher at his kids preschool. He was already well into the divorce process. His ex started an emotional affair when their son (my SS) was 10 months old and their daughter (my SD) was 31 months. DH and I started dating and I met the kids just before moving in when they were 3 and 4.5. DH had full custody because ex moved to a different area an hour away, but she moved back to our area (temporarily) and he gave her half-custody, so to this day we do a week on and a week off. She has since moved 30 minutes away so the kids are in the car a lot on her weeks because they go to school in our district. 

When I first met the kids and for the first few years, I had fun playing house (hah, oh the naïveté). Yes there were definitely hard times, but it had mostly to do with catching these kids up as far as life skills. DH and I would fight about the kids, I wanting time for just my husband and I on vacations, house rules, etc. We would also fight about issues with his ex, she does parent the kids, no rules/structure/no teaching of life skills and how to be responsible. You know, as far as parenting my general philosophy is “to each their own,” but when it directly impacts me and my life I have to step up (hah, no pun intended) and try to do something. Therefore, I’m always in correction mode and I come off as really strict. My family “jokes” and calls me the General. I’ve tried to find balance and ignore a lot, but the things I am teaching them and telling them to do are things that I expect from anyone who lives in my household.