You are here

I hardly want to spend time with my stepchildren

tigerstepmama's picture

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie here and honestly I don't know where to start. Even choosing a subject to this post was already hard. So my husband has 3 kids (girl 14y, girl 12 y, boy 9y) from his previous marriage and now we have a boy together (2y). After 2 years living in his home country (Europe) we made a big leap of moving to my home country (Asia). Before when we were in Europe, his children came to us every Wednesday, every second weekend, a summer vacation of 2 weeks, and another vacation of 1 week either fall or Easter. Now of course the situation has changed, last summer they came here to stay with us for one month, and he flew over Europe alone once for one week. We are standing before Winter vacation and by all honesty I don't want to spend it ala blended family style anymore. Vacation with them the previous times was already not something I would look forward to, I mean they didn't do anything horrible more than the usual teenie - kiddie issues age appropiate, just that it was always more a duty than a pleasure (well actually my husband's duty). I don't have any problem with them, and I don't think they with me neither, we get a long. Just that I don't like their characters, how they behave, how they act, nothing wrong, they're just not my type of people. Also when spendind time all together we were not really one family, we would be my husband with their children as a single dad, and me with our son as a single mom, because 1.I don't speak their language very well and 2.my husband was busy enought with them that he couldn't also care about our son. I was fine with all that, when getting married I knew what I was into, eventhough occasionally daydreaming about a husband of just me, a dad of just our son, withou the exwife and the stepchildren, he is already a wonderful dad, and he would be 100% for us.