You are here

I don't think my boyfriend likes my kids

shannont821's picture

Hi there, I am new to this and need some advice.
I am a single mother of 2. My daughters are 5 and almost 3. They have been through alot having to endure the pain of their dad and I splitting up. I admit, I sometimes baby my oldest because her dad and her were so close. in short, their dad was a drug addict. We left hoping he'd get the fire under him to change and he didn't. Its been almost 2 years now. He's cleaned up and is trying to get his life on track, but without us. I met up with a guy I dated in jr. hs. He has 2 kids from previous relationships, both whom i've never met. He has met and been around my kids alot. They seem to stress him out and I don't how to feel. He is now saying he needs his space. I respect that, but i can't handle the thought of men being scared off by my kids. I don't even have the energy to fight for this because their own father didn't want to stay, I guess I feel like why would a step dad? (granted, we're not married, but I felt we were heading in that direction.) I've read some forums on here, and alot of people seem to truely hate their stepkids.

help????!!!!! :jawdrop: :jawdrop:

shannont821's picture